Trump Dynasty

It’s been a long boring week back at the Homestead Air Base clinic that I’ve been working at. I just sold my car so I could have some extra money for this trip of a lifetime that I am about to embark on. I will be going to New Zealand for one year.

There is something far more great going on today. The presidential election has spills over to the early morning. While leaving the movie theater with my friend Adrian, I take out my phone to check the results. I’ve kept my phone in my pocket to keep my anxiety down. This has literally been the craziest election year in recent history with two incredibly disliked candidates. A mentally handicapped person and the devil of corruption have spent the past year fighting for the highest office of the land. America seems to have chosen Donald J. Trump for President of the United States.

Absolutely shocking! No one in the media and none of the polls had predicted it. It is an American Brexit. Stocks plummeted and people protested outside of the White House. I feel incredibly uneasy. Though, I’ve spent the past months criticizing Clinton on her corruption and history as failed Secretary of State, I wasn’t exactly a fan of Trump either. He is unprincipled, not conservative, and can barely make a coherent sentence. However, I need to come to terms with this.

The week or so prior to election day was spent digging through Clinton e-mails, watching campaign members resign in response to them, reading opinion pieces about the Clinton conspiracy, and basically solidifying my discontent with Hillary Clinton. Even though I was supporting third party candidate Gary Johnson, I was really starting to believe that Trump was the only one that could put an end to the Clinton dynasty.

Regardless, Donald Trump is now President Trump. He’ll stay that way for at least the next four years. I don’t believe he made his wealth on his own and, at the very least; he surrounded himself with successful people who helped make him what he is today. If he does the same as President then I don’t think America has much to be concerned about.
I am not leaving the country because I fear the result of a Trump presidency. In fact, I think it will rather entertaining the view it from the outside, surrounded by people who have been watching the United States from the outside its borders their whole lives.

Leave a Reply

