“Sensible Swiss”

I was sitting in the hostel lounge recently reading Daniel Mitchell’s (Cato Institute) blog. Daniel Mitchell has become my go to guy when it comes to international economics. He doesn’t only talk about the things that have to happen but what is likely to happen and under what circumstances. He is a realist in that sense. It’s fun to hear libertarian scholars talk about the ideal conditions for prosperity but I find more worth while to hear about solutions in the situation at hand.

Of course, That is all besides the point. In his New Year’s Eve post titled “The Best and Worst News of 2016”, he used to term “Sensible Swiss” which he apparently first used back in June when Switzerland voted against Universal Basic Income in referendum. This is not the first time I’ve heard this praise for the Swiss by libertarians. The Foundation for Economic Education posted an article in 2015 titled “9 reasons Libertarians should love Switzerland” which points out that Switzerland is the fourth freest economy in the world. Libertarians tend to have this idea that the average Swiss citizen is smarter in regards to economics than the global average person. I had never met anyone from Switzerland before, at least not until New Year’s Eve in Wellington.

It was early on NYE. A group of us were sitting around the Kitchen talking about whatever came to mind. Since traveling, I’ve noticed politics and culture is a common topic. I sat next to a young blond woman and asked her where she was from (I have developed a problem that I ask people where they are from before asking their name) and we began a conversation about home. From Miami to Cuban food then finally Cuba itself. I immediately explained the event of Castro’s death from the perspective of the Cuban and South Floridian community and I received the response that I least expected. She told me how suspicious she was of the narrative she got from the media. The media was very sympathetic of Castro and his legacy. She was the first to point out the atrocities of the Castro regime to me. I was so pleased to hear that no everyone overseas was so ignorant of Communist Cuba.

Unfortunately, this is only me analyzing the judgment of one Swiss girl. Maybe they are as “Sensible” as Daniel and other libertarians make them seem.

 

 

Leave a Reply

