Hindsight is 20/20

I have enjoyed New Zealand.My favorite part was when I was on the Kiwi bus jumping from location to location meeting all kinds of new people and doing all kinds of new activities. I had conquered so much of the country in such a little amount of time and I had fun doing it. Yeah, I felt a little rushed at times but, at the same time, it felt like an adventure. I wouldn’t give back that time for the world.

Wellington was fun too, it was just different. The goal was to live long term and it was time to buckle down and find work. It just wasn’t as easy as it seemed. Finding a hostel with a good atmosphere took time but I achieved that. Trek Global made meeting people incredibly easy. If my time in Taipei didn’t teach me this then it was definitely Trek that taught me that there was no other way to travel abroad than via hostel. The social factor completely transforms the experience. It can literally turn a trip from visually entertaining to physically entertaining. What does that even mean? Most people(maybe only Americans) travel to new destinations with no intent of meeting new people. If it happens then fine but if it doesn’t then so be it. However, meeting fellow travelers can amplify your vacation ten folds and now I wouldn’t recommend traveling any other way.

Of course, there is a trade off to this experience and it is specifically felt when traveling for long term. That is privacy. You cannot necessarily own things when you are abroad like this. It takes up unnecessary space and it is outside of your budget when your sole purpose of work is to fund your next trip. You trade material for experiences at 100 percent. You must basically live out of a backpack or suitcase which can get old fast. There is almost a constant pressure to be social, which can be exhausting if you’re someone like me who finds it difficult to pull myself in and out of this mood. I have felt all of this and I often struggle with deciding whether this trade off is for me. Everyone is different and I have witnessed some people thrive with this lifestyle.

What is it about me? My time in New Zealand has been a learning experience and has made me realize(just as the title states) that hindsight is 20/20. I keep thinking back about how I could have conquered both Islands of New Zealand in a month or so days and left to Australia with plenty of money to spare. There nothing that can be done about it but it drives me nuts just thinking about. There was a large portion of my time in Wellington where I’ve had too much time to think. Thinking about what I am doing here, what I’ve thought I always wanted, and what I really want to do next.

I always thought I wanted self sufficiency and stability. I told myself that for years and I suddenly threw that away for a life of constant instability. Maybe it was a bad move on my part but I had told myself for months prior that I needed to do something different for a change. I did it and what I discovered is that I love traveling and seeing new parts of the world but I also like stability. Most of all, I like independence.

I think I know what to do.

Leave a Reply

